0 Cart
Added to Cart
    You have items in your cart
    You have 1 item in your cart
      Total

      Traffic Legislation 2021

      Buses

      SB 20 Hill Chapter 593

      Beginning July 1, 2018 requires bus drivers and passengers to swear seat belts in buses that are equipped with them and requires drivers to notify passengers of this requirement and the fine for not wearing a seat belt either before departure or with posted signs or placards.

      Tour Buses

      AB 25, Nazarian Chapter 310

      Allows local authorities, by ordinance or resolution, to both restrict the rotes that an open top tour bus may operate on and prohibit their use of loudspeakers or public address systems.

      Vehicle Registration

      Fleet Registration- Waiver or Fees AB 458, Frazier Chapter 441

      Authorizes the DMV to adopt regulations establishing exemptions from the business partner automation transaction fee for transactions other than an original registration of transfer of ownership.

      Reduces minimum fleet size eligible for participation in the permanent fleet registration program from 50 vehicles to 25 vehicles and reduce the minimum fleet size eligible for participation in the permanent fleet registration program through an association from 250 vehicles to 125 vehicles.

      Deletes the requirement that vehicles registered through the permanent fleet registration program must display the company’s name, trademark or logo.

      Vehicles: Transportation Funding

      Funding/Fee and Taxes SB 1, Beall Chapter 5

      Increases several taxes and fees to raise roughly 5.2. billion in new transportation revenues annually and makes adjustments for inflation every year. Funding to be used towards deffered maintenance on the state highways and local streets and roads, improve the state’s trade corridors, and transit.

       

      Specifically, starting November 1,2017, increases a number of transportation- related taxes and fees as follows:

      Gasoline excise tax: $0.12/gallon

      Diesel excise tax: $0.20/gallon

      Diesel sales tax: 4%/gallon

       

      Also imposes a Transportation Improvement Fee (TIF) of $25-$175, beginning on January 1, 2018 based on the value of a vehicle, as part of the vehicle registration fee. The TIF is subject to annual increases based on the California Consumer Price Index (CCPI), beginning January 1, 2020. In addition, requires the DMV, beginning July 1,2020, to collect an additional $100 Road Improvement Fee (RIF) for zero-emission vehicles with a model year of 2020 or later. The RIF is only imposed for the renewal of registration. Annually, the DMV is required to adjust the RIF pursuant to the CCPI, beginning January 1, 2021.

      The TIF will be collected upon registration or renewal of every vehicle subject to registration, except:

      A commercial vehicle with an unladen weight of more than 10,000 pounds.

      A vehicle exempt pursuant to the California Vehicle Code (CVC) from the payment of registration fees.

      A Vehicle for which a certificate of nonoperation has been filed with the department.

      A vehicle of historical significance pursuant to CVC § 5004

       

      The TIF will be based on the market value of the vehicle, using the following schedule:

      $25 for vehicles with a market value range between $0 & $4,999

      $50 for vehicles with a market value range between $5,000 & $24,999

      $100 for vehicles with a market value range between $25,000 & $34,999

      $150 for vehicles with a market value range between $35,000 & $59,999

      $175 for vehicles with a market value range of $60,000 & higher.

       

      Also requires the DMV to confirm, prior to issuing vehicle registration or completing transfer of ownership of certain diesel-fueled commercial vehicles, that the vehicle is compliant with or exempt from applicable air pollution control technology requirements, beginning January 1, 2020. The DMV is required to refuse an application for registration or transfer of ownership, if the vehicle is determined to be non-compliant. The registered owner of the noncompliant vehicle is eligible for 90-day temporary operating permit (TOP), provided the vehicle registration fees are paid, in order to provide the time necessary to bring the vehicle into compliance.

       

      SB1 affects diesel-fueled vehicles with a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) of 14,001 pounds to 26,000 pounds for the following vehicle model years:

      Effective January 1, 2020 vehicle model years 2004 and older

      Effective January 1, 2021 vehicle model years 2007 and older

      Effective January 1, 2023 vehicle model years 2010 and older

       

      SB1 affects diesel-fueled vehicles with a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) of more than 26,000 pounds for the following vehicle model years:

       

      Effective January 1, 2020 vehicle model years 2000 and older

      Effective January 1, 2021 vehicle model years 2005 and older

      Effective January 1, 2022 vehicle model years 2007 and older

      Effective January 1, 2023 vehicle model years 2010 and older

       

      Public Utilities Commission: Duties and Responsibilities: Governance

      Public Utilities Commission – Oversight SB 19, Hill Chapter 421

      Beginning July 1,2018, transfers regulatory authority over private carriers of passengers from the Public Utilities Commission to the DMV.